Noodle Butt

When my niece was first born she was three pounds 5 ounces. She looked like a little doll.  Her name is Kimber and she has a twin named Raymond who was only 4 pounds. I was the first to see them both since my sister had a c section and wanted me to be in with her. First off I was nervous since I had not had my own children yet and secondly I had no desire to see my sister sliced open. The doctor told me not to worry he would have a curtain put up. When the twins were born Kimber, who was born first, was sitting on Ray’s head. We love telling them that story. Since they were preemie’s they had to stay in the hospital for a while. I then wasn’t allowed in the nursery to hold them which irritated even their doctor. The night before they got to come home however my sister and her husband were to spend the night to see how the twins did. Since it was December and her husband owned his one business I was again the chosen one to stay the night.  My mom said, “Jill, they are talking about not letting Kimber come home because she doesn’t respond to people like they want. This will make it too hard on all of us being home with Ray and going to see Kimber. Please stay up and talk to her all night since they promise she can be out of the incubator like we have been saying she should be.”  Well, that was 21 years ago so an all-nighter was not so hard for me. While my sister slept. I read stories to Kimber and Ray. When Ray slept I sang and talked to Kimber. Even when she slept I would sing and talk to her. They were so little they had to be woken up for food all the time anyway so that was my night. I sang Rudolph the Rednosed reindeer so many times it was insane.  It was a success however and when Kimber heard the song her head would turn in that direction. She was able to go home too!

Kimber would become the late night girl and when I would go stay at my sisters she would often think her 2:00 am bottle meant stay up with Aunt Jill.  I never minded!

Fast forward 21 years and now she has moved in with my family and I. We are trying to help give her that boost she needs to go out this time on her own. She is missing chromosome 22 which is DiGeorge Disease, she had thyroid cancer her senior year of high school and after my mom passed away when she was 13 no one has pushed her to succeed. She was able to do all the classwork in her normal class until my mom passed away. Now I need to find the strength to help her see what she is capable of doing and not holding herself back. Since she moved in with us in October, she now has a job, passed her failing college classes and has started a new semester.  I know that life will always be a struggle for her, but I also know that unless she tries and stops holding herself back now she will never know what she can do with her life.   Why did I call this Noodle Butt?  Great job reading until the end….  When she was born and so little the preemie diapers barely were small enough so I started calling her Noodle But!  The name has stuck to this day since she is an entire 4 ft. 11!

5 thoughts on “Noodle Butt

  1. This post gave me all the feels. I believe that aunts have a special place for kids. You have done and are doing so much for your Noodle Butt! Good luck to you both.

  2. Who’s crying? Your piece rings out with the love you hold for these kiddos, especially Kimber. How fortunate, with all that has already happened in her life, to have you as a stabilizing influence and now as guide and home. But my favorite part was singing Rudolph until she responded to people and could go home. I wonder if she turned her head to wish you would stop! No, not really. What a lovely memory.

  3. What a special relationship you’ve created with Kimber. You’ve woven the past and present in this post and you even created a bit of mystery/suspense with the title and the final line. I hope things go well in your house with Kimber there with you. Your love for her shines through!

  4. This is so sweet! What a special relationship you had with your niece and nephew right from the beginning. You are also obviously a rock star sister and aunt!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *