3/9 Best Dog Ever!

Scout is our ¾ great Dane. ¼ Mastiff who is a super adorable dog. I can’t give everyone else a day of writing without talking about him. He is my first dog ever. My parents always said no and gave me the story about how it wouldn’t be fair to the dog because no one was home all day and we were always busy at night.  My uncle, who was my mom’s brother, was even a veterinarian in our small town. He told me once that when I grew up and was able to get my own dog he would help me get a nice one.  Well as I told you before there was a time where Brian and I were not in a good place to have three children let alone a dog. So we did not get one until about 8 years ago when we found Scout on the Adopt Me website.  I loved the fact that we were saving a dog and that Brian had grown up with Great Danes and really wanted one. My uncle had unfortunately passed away before we got Scout, but I know he is the reason we found and picked Scout. Everyone loves him. He was super easy to potty train and he is just a great dog. 

We have taken him since he was a puppy to all the kids soccer games and softball games. He goes to watch the kids march in parades and always marches with the boy or girl scouts or both in the Darien 4th of July parade. Since Scout is a big handsome dog people seem to know him and not us. The entire family marched in the parade several different years, but only Scout has been in the paper!  Everyone always wants to pet him and be by him. We bought a travel trailer and called it his big dog house because that way he can always go on vacations with us. When we were at Yellowstone and looking at a waterfall there two buses full of Chinese visitors also pulled up. They loved  Scout more than the waterfall and all of them wanted a picture with him and us. One family couldn’t believe it when Brian let their little girl hold his leash for a picture!  

Scout loves following me around and the kids often laugh that we should have named him shadow. Haley was very young when we got Scout and when we were talking about names she said watermelon. Chloe wanted to call him Bandit, but basically because she was playing softball and her team name was the Bandits. Dustin mentioned Scout. Everyone loved the name they thought of. We all said no way to watermelon and that left the other two. I suggested that we go with Scout since all of them were some type of Scout. We decided to call him Scout Bandit since of course all dogs need a middle name. I know that since he is 8 we are starting to be on borrowed time with this Scout and I do not look forward to that day.  In the meantime though I will enjoy our walks and watching him run into the van when I grab my keys and open the door. He is a great dog that has been a great addition to our family. I also told my aunt that I know my uncle was up in heaven helping us pick him. 

3 thoughts on “3/9 Best Dog Ever!

  1. I would love to meet Scout Bandit. He sounds so sweet. We can set up a time for him and Tavi to hang out too…. I am now a dog person…mostly. Please make sure he doesn’t lick me 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *