My Baby Girl is going to be 13!

Haley is my third child and happens to also be the youngest in not just our immediate family but for both the extended families as well. Since I have already written about my first two children I need to write about this one or she will be super mad at me. She is the baby girl of the family and at times she can totally use that to her advantage and has never seemed to think of it as a disadvantage. When Haley was born my sweet son Dustin at the age of 5 walked into the hospital room with my parents and looked at Haley. He said, “Well mom, I really wanted a boy, but I won’t get mad at this one.” That has sort of been how those two look and act with each other still today and she as the baby girl gets by with a lot more than Chloe ever could with her brother. 

Haley loves to dance and would dance 24 hours a day if she could. She is part of the Beyond the Stars dance team. When she is not dancing she is always busy. She is a social butterfly and loves talking to her friends all the time as you can imagine since on the 13th of this month she turns 13!  Haley is on her junior high volleyball team and is looking forward to trying out again for their soccer team.  She, like her older siblings, loved playing soccer for DYC and enjoyed being on the Lakeview team last year. Haley also is in a band where she is the baton twirler for the marching band and plays her flute for concert. Haley also is in her school choir so she is super busy all the time. 

Haley, like Chloe, also has a heart of gold, but she is definitely my very confident daughter who realizes she is good at dance and other sports and in a non- cocky way will let people know that she realizes she is pretty good.  If I tell Chloe she is pretty she would just sort of smile. Haley would say, “Yes I know I am and then sort of laugh. I actually love this about her. She will not take anything bad from people. Where Chloe and I might walk away. Haley will usually let the person know they are wrong, but in a way that you can’t really be too mad at her. She tells several different cousins that they are or aren’t her favorite depending on the day and they all want to be known as “the baby girls” favorite. A nickname she says she will never get tired of no matter how old she gets. I am starting to agree with her because I think that “baby girl” uses that little fact to her advantage and found out early that being the 13th grandchild on my husband’s side gives her several advantages.  I can’t wait to see what she decides to do in life. 

One last fun fact. 13 is her lucky number since she was born on a Friday the 13, she is the 13th grandchild on my husband’s side like I said earlier and her parents unknowingly gave her 13 letters in her entire name!  She loves when she can have the number 13 on her sports uniforms. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *